1985 – The Way of the Exploding Fist

The Way of the Exploding Fist

Way of the exploding fist

Developer(s) Beam Software
Publisher(s) Melbourne House
Designer(s) Gregg Barnett
Platform(s) Acorn Electron,Amstrad CPC, BBC Micro,Commodore 16,Commodore 64,ZX Spectrum
Release date(s) 1985
Genre(s) Fighting game
Mode(s) Single player; Two-player
Media/distribution Cassette, floppy disk

Joel:  This was one of Liam’s suggestions but I happened to have it in my library. The first time I played it was roughly two months ago when the boy and I broke it and a few others out for testing. It took a bit of getting used to –  being a massive fan of the Tekken franchise, the control of your character is somewhat… different. Once I got the hang of it and explained it to the boy we had a pretty decent string of bouts on it though I have to admit, he whipped me in the end. I found this to be very playable compared to similarly aged fighters such as the original Street Fighter, of which I am not a fan. Also – look out for the raccoon. 😉

Liam: So back to the C64 then! The plan is that while we are hammering away buttons on the Atari, Joel’s wife Rachael will be racking this one ready for us to jump straight in. I picked this one because it won a Golden Joystick award despite the fact that I have never actually played it before. Sounds a pretty interesting game – much more measured and controlled than the usual fighting game where button bashing will get you anywhere. Joel has played before so you would think he would have an advantage over me but I am far more violent than him.  I also watched a load of martial arts last year during the Olympics so I can throw around terms like Waza-ari and Ippon like a champion bullshitter.

According to Wikipedia, The Way of the Exploding Fist was endorsed by Karate champion Jeoffrey Thompson. He doesn’t even have a Wikipedia page, but here he is looking pretty badass in some karate pyjamas. He sponsored a video game for gods sake! The man deserves some recognition!

60-1_jeoff-thompson

Leave a Reply

