1983 – Frogger

Frogger

Frogger

Frogger (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Developer(s)

Konami

Publisher(s)

Sega/Gremlin

Platform(s)

Arcade
various

Release date(s)

1981

Genre(s)

Overhead view action

Mode(s)

Up to 2 players, alternating turns

Cabinet

Upright

CPU

2x Z80:
Z80 (@ 3.072 MHz)
Z80 (@ 1.78975 MHz)

Sound

Sound CPU: Z80 (@ 1.78975 MHz)
Sound Chips: AY8910 (@ 1.78975 MHz)

Display

Raster, 224 x 256 pixels (Vertical), 99 colors

Liam: Well 1983 was a pretty big year for us both as it was the year we were born, but being the year I was born I don’t really remember many computer games around then. I think Frogger might have been the first game I remember playing – My mum and dad had an old Spectrum ZX and I used to play Q*bert and some Paddington Bear maths game, but I don’t remember –  It was some school fair in my infant school and they had set up a couple of BBC Micro computers with Frogger and it was 10p a go. I dare say I sucked as much back then as I am going to suck now.

Frogger requires patience, a keen eye for detail and a steady hand. None of which I possess but despite that I still love it. I’m going to go out on a limb and say that Joel is going to beat any score I can throw up by a massive margin.

Joel:  This is a true classic – one of my favourites although I’m compelled to point out that the screenshot is of the arcade version and is a lot more vibrant than the C64 version due to the limited colour palette. I was really pleased to be starting out on this one. It’s a great example of how a game doesn’t have to be complicated to be good… or as addictive as some kind of illicit drug. Even today, I can kill hours playing it, and that’s not just waiting for it to load (though that does take about 25 minutes!)

Such a simple concept but at the same time maddeningly difficult and massively satisfying when you do well. What more can I say except for “£$%^ing logs!”

If anyone is interested you can play Frogger online here

Leave a Reply

